Schnier Elektrotechnik – Logo

Flocking

Applications

During electrostatic flocking millions of flock fibers are applied in an electrical field onto a substrate coated with adhesive. The adhesive layer thickness must not be too thin, so the flock fibers can be adequately anchored. Application of the adhesive is done through rolling, painting, spraying, immersion, screen printing or pad printing.
Dosing of the flock fibers is done with surface flocking, e.g. via dosing boxes. The flock fibers are brushed with a brush through a metal grate which is under high-voltage.

Flat surface flocking with dosing boxes

Three-dimensional components, e.g. passenger car glove boxes, are flocked electro-pneumatically. Here the flock fibers are blown with a fan by an electrode that is under high-voltage. This charges the flock fibers. This can be done both manually and robot controlled.

Flat surface flocking with dosing boxes

Electrostatic-pneumatic flocking

Manual applicators are often used in T-shirt flocking. An electrode under high-voltage is inside of the applicator. The cover of the applicator is a plastic sieve. The flock is located between the plastic sieve and the electrode and is dosed through the sieve through gentle shaking.

Electrostatic-pneumatic flocking

Electrostatic manual flocking

The field lines ensure that the fibers are aligned vertically. This creates a uniform, textile surface. Modern adhesives ensure that the locking is very durable and resistant to abrasion. Depending on the thickness and length of the fiber, from a velvety to a hard, abrasive surface can be made, corresponding to the desired function, look or feel.

Electrostatic manual flocking

Schnier Elektrotechnik – Logo

Beflockung

Anwendungen

Bei der elek­tro­sta­tischen Beflockung werden Millionen von Flockfasern in einem elek­trischen Feld auf ein mit Klebstoff beschichtetes Substrat aufgetragen. Die Klebstoff-Schicht­stärke darf nicht zu dünn sein, damit sich die Flockfasern ausreichend verankern können. Die Auftragung des Klebstoffes erfolgt durch Walzen, Streichen, Spritzen, Tauchen, Siebdruck oder Tampondruck.

Die Dosierung der Flockfasern erfolgt bei einer Flächen­be­flockung z.B. über Dosier­kästen. Die Flockfasern werden mittels Bürste durch ein unter Hoch­spannung stehendes Metall­gitter gebürstet.

Flächenbeflockung mit Dosierkasten

Drei­di­men­sionale Bauteile wie z.B. PKW-Hand­schuh­kästen werden Elektro-Pneumatisch beflockt. Dabei werden die Flockfasern mittels Gebläse an einer unter Hoch­spannung stehenden Elektrode vorbei geblasen. Dabei werden die Flockfasern aufgeladen. Dies kann sowohl handgeführt, wie auch robo­ter­ge­steuert erfolgen.

Flächenbeflockung mit Dosierkasten

Elektrostatisch-Pneumatische Beflockung

In der T-Shirt-Beflockung kommen oft auch hand­ge­führte Appli­katoren zum Einsatz. Im inneren des Applikators befindet sich eine unter Hoch­spannung stehende Elektrode. Der Deckel des Applikators ist ein Kunst­stoffsieb. Zwischen Kunst­stoffsieb und Elektrode befindet sich der Flock und wird durch leichtes Schütteln durch das Sieb ausdosiert.

Elektrostatisch-Pneumatische Beflockung

Elektrostatische Handbeflockung

Die Feldlinien sorgen dafür, dass sich die Fasern senkrecht ausrichten. Dies erzeugt eine gleich­mäßige, textile Oberfläche. Moderne Klebstoffe sorgen dafür, dass Beflo­ckungen sehr stra­pa­zierfähig und abrieb­be­ständig sind. Abhängig von Faserstärke und -länge kann entsprechend der gewünschten Funktion, Optik oder Haptik eine samtweiche bis hart-abrasive Oberfläche erstellt werden.

Elektrostatische Handbeflockung